1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Constant of gravitation-what is that?

1. Sep 26, 2005 #1

Since I'm a beginner I hope the following questions can be exaplined layman's terms

Newton's gravitational law says that

F = G*m1*m2/r^2

G is called constant of gravitation, but what does this constant represent
    and what is its use in the above formula.
    And how did we derive it?

thank you very much
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 26, 2005 #2
    I think you would have to stop being a layman once you understood the gravitional constant and admit to bing a genius
  4. Sep 26, 2005 #3
    However in simple terms it a constant that scales how we find the force the of gravitional attraction between bodies.

It is a very small effect, if G was big then we would notice that lumps of lead would stick together, as we dont normally see this without very sensitive equipement then we know that G is small
  5. Sep 26, 2005 #4
    It is not derived, it is measured, it is a universal constant, it can be converted into what ever measurement system you are using but it just comes from the fact that if you set a mass a distance from another mass then there is a tiny measurable force. It is all alround you all the time and it applies to every mass everywhere in the universe

It is best detected with gold or lead spheres as they can be made small and massive (have high mass?) to maximise the force
  6. Sep 26, 2005 #5
    A-I guess I'm missing the obvious here since I don't get why we need to put constant that shows tiny force inside

F = m1*m2/r^2

formula in order to calculate forces between planets?

B-I assume it was measured only recently (in the 20 century) , but still G was somehow derived from kepler's

F = 4*PI^2*K*m/r^2

even if its value was not known. How ?