1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Construct a 25 ohm resistance from a boz

1. Mar 19, 2004 #1

can you advise me how could you construct a 25 ohm resistance from a boz containing a dozen 10 ohm resistors?

can someone explain this in details...
    i'm new to physics...

greatly appreciated!! thanks again!
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 19, 2004 #2
    To work out the resistance of a circuit with some resistors connected in series you simply add their resistances together.

However if you were to connect resistors in parallel then you would have to use this equation:
    Code (Text):

1  = 1 + 1 + ... + 1
    --   --  --        --
    R[sub]T[/sub]   R[sub]1[/sub]   R[sub]2[/sub]        R[sub]n[/sub]

So what would the resistance be if you connected two 10 ohm resistors together in parallel?

This should get you most of the way there, let me know if you're still stuck.
  4. Mar 19, 2004 #3
    Just because you have two resistors in parallel, it doesn't mean that you can't have things in series with them, hint hint. ;)

I quoted you in here so that I can be corrected if I'm wrong or if the thread develops and more difficult questions are asked or I'm just too slow then someone else can jump in. Hope you don't mind.
  5. Mar 20, 2004 #4
    No easy way to do it. Just use guess and check.

Resistors in series add like

[tex]R_\textrm{equiv} = R_1 + R_2 + \cdots[/tex]

whereas resistors in parallel add like

[tex]R_\textrm{equiv} = (\frac{1}{R_1} + \frac{1}{R_2} + \cdots)^{-1}[/tex]

So build yourself a circuit of resistors and calculate what the resistance is. If it's too high, make some parallel and if it's too low, make some series.

6. Mar 20, 2004 #5