Constructability of Roots (esp w/Hilbert Tools)

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of constructability in geometry, specifically in relation to finding the roots of polynomials using ruler and compass or Hilbert tools. The first question is about the constructability of real roots using the quadratic formula, the second question is about proving constructability using Hilbert tools, and the third question is about the implications of having complex roots on constructability. The expert provides clear answers to these questions and offers to answer any further questions.
C. Caesar
ello all,
This is largely a repost of something I posted on r/math, but didn't seem to find any luck there with two of my questions, so I'm asking it again here with the hopes that someone here can answer my questions. Thanks!

I'm studying for a final in geometry, and I know I'm going to get a question of the form "Let a be a real root of p(x). Is a constructable by ruler and compass? Is a constructable by Hilbert tools?" - Where p(x) is some easy to factor polynomial (judging from past problems, highly likely its a quartic easily solvable by substitution into a quadratic).

Unfortunately, I missed the day of class where we went over this, so I have no notes on it, and it is also pretty much the only topic in the class where we strayed from the textbook, so I have no help there. Also the internet hasn't been the most helpful.

I basically just have three questions.

1) Assuming I can get answers in terms of radicals via the quadratic equation, the (real) roots are always constructable by ruler and compass, right?

2) Furthermore, is it enough to show that the root is not constructable by Hilbert tools by showing it cannot be simplified into root(1+b2 )? (where b is some number)