1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Convergence of a series

1. Apr 29, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I'm not sure how to do the notation on here but. Does this series converge or diverge. If it converges, then to what value.
    The series: Sum from 1 to infinity of [(-1)^n * n / (n^2-4n-4)]

2. Relevant equations
    It tells me to use the ratio test

3. The attempt at a solution
    I used the ration test and got the limit to equal 1 which is inconclusive. I used the alternating series test to find that it converges, but how do I figure what it converges to and whether it is absolute convergence or not? I'm new to series so this is a little confusing. Any help is appreciated

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 29, 2012 #2

sharks

Gold Member

In LaTeX form, this is what your equation appears like:
    [tex]\sum^{\infty}_{n=1} \frac{(-1)^n n}{ (n^2-4n-4)}[/tex]
    Since there is an alternating sign and you need to find the series, i believe you need to use AST.

The conditions that must be satisfied for the series to converge:[tex]a_n>0
    \\\lim_{n \rightarrow \infty} a_n=0
    \\a_{n+1} \leq a_n[/tex]where[tex]a_n=\frac{n}{n^2-4n-4}[/tex]Indeed, the series converges.
    [tex]\lim_{n \rightarrow {\infty}} \frac{n}{n^2-4n-4}=\lim_{n \rightarrow {\infty}} \frac{1/n}{1-4/n-4/n^2}[/tex]
    I would say it converges to 0?

To test for absolute or conditional convergence, test if the absolute value of the original series converges or not:
    [tex]\sum^{\infty}_{n=1} \left|\frac{n}{ (n^2-4n-4)}\right|[/tex]

Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  4. Apr 29, 2012 #3