1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Convergent sequences: if {an} converges and {an + bn} converges, prove {bn} converges

1. Sep 22, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Suppose {an}n=1 and {bn}n=1 are sequences such that {an}n=1 and {an + bn }n=1 converge.

Prove that {bn}n=1 converges.

2. Relevant equations

The definition of convergence.

3. The attempt at a solution

I am pretty new to mathematics that requires proof, so excuse me if I do something really stupid... but basically, is this a sufficient proof?

1. Assume {an}n=1 converges to A (by hypothesis).

Then for ε/2 > 0 there is a positive integer N1 such that if n ≥ N1, then |an - A| < ε/2.​

2. Assume that {an + bn }n=1 converges to A + B (by hypothesis).

Then for ε > 0 there is a positive integer N = max{N1, N2} such that if n ≥ N, then | (an + bn) - (A + B) | < ε​

3. | (an + bn) - (A + B) | = | (an - A) + (bn - B) | < ε

4. Since by hypothesis |an - A| < ε/2, then

| (an - A) - (an - A) + (bn - B) | < ε - ε/2

| (bn - B) | < ε/2

if n ≥ N2 for some positive integer N2.​

5. But this is the definition of convergence, therefore {bn}n=1 converges (to B).

Thanks.

Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2010 #2

Office_Shredder

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Re: Convergent sequences: if {an} converges and {an + bn} converges, prove {bn} conve

You never actually say what N2 is.