Convert Metric Tensor to Gravity in GR

In summary: However, this will only be valid if the conditions in the weakly curved spacetime are satisfied.Yes. Modulo a few technical assumptions that I'll... not go into, there is a formula that relates the metric tensor g to the acceleration a.
max_zhou
I am still learning general relativity (GR). I know we can find the path of a test particle by solving geodesic equations. I am wondering if it is possible to derive/convert metric tensor to gravity, under weak approximation, and vice versa.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
max_zhou said:
I am wondering if it is possible to derive/convert metric tensor to gravity,
What do you mean “convert” to gravity? It already is gravity.

max_zhou said:
I am wondering if it is possible to derive/convert metric tensor to gravity
This is much like asking how you convert gravitational potential to gravity in Newton's gravity. It is already a part of the description of how gravity works.

Another possibility is that the OP is interested in how to calculate the proper acceleration of a worldline, so that he'd know how much a test mass would weigh if an observer on said worldline weighed it with a scale.

pervect said:
Another possibility is that the OP is interested in how to calculate the proper acceleration of a worldline, so that he'd know how much a test mass would weigh if an observer on said worldline weighed it with a scale.
We can read and try to squeeze our own knowledge about what you can do in GR into the OP. However, all of that is going to be conjecture unless the OP can clarify what he is asking about.