Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Coriolis Force

1. Nov 24, 2008 #1
    When I studied "Earth Science" , I found a formula of Coriolis Force which is

-2m[tex]\vec{}\omega[/tex]x[tex]\vec{}v[/tex]

I am wondering how the formula is proven?

I need a careful proof and diagram

THX!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 24, 2008 #2
    The Coriolis Effect a result of using a rotating reference frame. I recommend getting comfortable with the Coriolis effect in 2d first. The site below is a nice site to get used to the polar coordinate basis and how to take derivatives using r, theta which are unit vectors that are dependent on time.

Notice the equation for acceleration:
    [​IMG]

the
    [itex]
    2\dot{r} \dot{ \theta }\bf{e_{ \theta}
    [/itex]
    is the Coriolis effect in 2d
    here is a nice video describing this:

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014
  4. Nov 24, 2008 #3
    I have known the effects of Coriolis force

I want to see the "3-D" condition of Coriolis Force

and the "critical" proof(by mathmatics and physic)......

Thanks you for displaying the vedio!

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014
  5. Nov 24, 2008 #4
    hmm not sure what we are looking for by "critical proof", basically when you are using a different coordinate system these pseudo forces just show up, so being able to change the coordinate system seems to do it. Maybe I am misunderstanding what you are asking, dunno.

6. Nov 24, 2008 #5

LURCH

Science Advisor

I never took a "proof-writing" math class, but I think that's what he's asking for (am I right abc?). Or perhaps a derivation of the equation?

7. Nov 24, 2008 #6
    But this just requires changing coordinate systems from xyz to rho,theta,phi. If you prove that then the Coriolis effect is just a side effect of the proof. Am I missing something in my reasoning Lurch?

8. Nov 24, 2008 #7

D H

Staff Emeritus