Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Correcting signal

1. Aug 12, 2011 #1
    Hello folks,

I am an out-of-my-depths biologist looking for some guidance. I have a reference signal and 2 other signals. Signal 1 independently measures the same event as signal ref but signal 1 generally underestimates signal ref. Signal 2 is measured the same way as signal 1 but but it measures a response to signal 1. What I would like to do is 'correct' signal 2 by taking advantage of the fact that signal 1 and signal ref are correlated (signal ref is far more accurate/reliable than signal 1). So far I've managed to align the three signals as best I can by cross correlating each pair and adjusting them by the appropriate delay. The delay adjusted signal ref and signal 1 have a normalized correlation coefficient r = 0.8 at lag = 0. For the other two pairs r > 0.5 at lag = 0. I was hoping that by aligning them I could find the factor by which signal ref and 1 vary at each time step and adjust signal 2 by that factor - but this isn't churning up good results.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

appreciated

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 12, 2011 #2
    Do you want to fix the lag between the reference signal and the other two signals? You could find the cross correlation between the reference signal and signal 1, and then delay the reference signal by the time of the maximum cross correlation. A positive time for the maximum of [itex](ref \star signal1)[/itex] could indicate signal1 was delayed relative to the reference signal.

It doesn't seem right to me to attempt to "correct" the the signals at all using [itex](ref \star signal2)[/itex] or [itex](signal1 \star signal2)[/itex], without knowing more about the system producing the response.