Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Cost of Quantum Research

1. Nov 30, 2015 #1
    Hello,

I am an amateur scientist and I’d like ask a question about the cost (estimate) and if it’s even possible to conduct a specific research relating to quantum physics.

What I want to do putting it simply is to entangle millions of particles even billions and measure their spins.

Is this even possible?

How much would such a research cost in equipment and quantum physicists to actually conduct the experiment?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 30, 2015 #2
    You need to specify the purpose for the experiment in order to attract any funding.

4. Nov 30, 2015 #3
    My intention is not to attract any funding but to estimate the cost to decide if I could fund it myself or look for external sources to fund such research.

5. Nov 30, 2015 #4
    You still have to propose an experiment which either discounts some theory, or otherwise supports it.

6. Nov 30, 2015 #5
    May I ask why would I have to propose an experiment? I’m asking a simple question about the cost of equipment, what does that have to do with the experiment itself?

7. Nov 30, 2015 #6
    It depends on what you are trying to achieive.
    Nobody is likely to stop you doing experiments any way you want as long as it isn't dangerous to other other people.

8. Nov 30, 2015 #7
    Dangerous! how would entangling particles be dangerous in any way?

9. Dec 1, 2015 #8
    Well for one thing this suggests a remote possibility for a teleportation technology.
    lf that was real, then the consequences of an accident could be far worse than the average nuclear power plant melt down.

10. Dec 1, 2015 #9
    Please provide papers or any sources so I can understand what is it that you are talking about…when you say “Teleportation Technology”

11. Dec 1, 2015 #10