Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Could a saint please guide me work through my research on AFFINE SETS AND MAPPINGS

1. Feb 26, 2012 #1
    This research project is to help me (I'm an undergraduate) get my head around this topic. It is concerned with affine subsets of a vector space and the mappings between them. As an
    application, the construction of certain fractal sets in the plane is considered. It would be considered pretty basic to a seasoned maths student.

I am wanting to learn this so I will be sticking around. I will not just leave. I want to commit to this. Thanks

There are two parts: A and B

If someone is willing to help, I will post each topic AFTER I have fully understood the previous topic. This way it will run in a logical order.

PART A:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Throughout Part A, V will be a real vector space and, for a non-empty subset S of V and
    a ε V , the set {x+a: x ε S} will be denoted by S + a

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TOPIC 1: Definition of Affine Subset:

An affine subset of V is a non-empty subset M of V with the property that λx+(1-λ)y ε M whenever x,y ε M and λ ε ℝ

To illustrate this concept, show that:

M = { x = (x1,...x4) ε ℝ4 : 2x1-x2+x3 = 1 and x1+4x3-2x4 = 3}

is an affine subset of ℝ4.

I'm not so sure where to start. Opinions welcome

Regards
    Tam

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 26, 2012 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Re: Could a saint please guide me work through my research on AFFINE SETS AND MAPPING

Take x and y in M. You must show that [itex]\lambda x+ (1-\lambda) y\in M[/itex]. Call this number z for convenience.

To show that z is in M, you need to show that

[tex]2z_1-z_2+z_3=1~\text{and}~z_1+4z_2-2z_4=3[/tex]