Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Could we even theoretically detect readio signals from extraterrestrial intelligence?

1. Jun 17, 2010 #1
    I mean, several light years from here, is it possible to distinguish between the signals coming from Earth and the massive amount of electromagnetic radiation emitted by our Sun? From a great distance, every solar system must appear dot-like.

Is it possible that civilizations are actually trying to communicate but are unable to do so because their signals are overpowered by their respective suns'?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2010 #2
    Re: Could we even theoretically detect readio signals from extraterrestrial intellige

I think a civilization advanced enough could create a unique, powerful signal to get through the stellar noise. But I'm no expert...

I'm not sure the 'beacon' approach to signaling is what an advance civilization would do. They'd probably have directed signals at systems and/or planets with probable life.

4. Jun 17, 2010 #3

Nabeshin

Science Advisor

Re: Could we even theoretically detect readio signals from extraterrestrial intellige

I'm pretty sure we (humanity) could create a signal that we (humanity) could detect at a distance of some thousands of light years. See, for example, the arecibo message.

5. Jun 18, 2010 #4

Chronos

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm less optimistic, nabeshin. Ciphering an intelligient [even terrawatt] signal from background noise in the universe is hugely difficult after a a few tens of light years - and that assumes you know the signal type and frequency for which to search. I'm a big fan of SETI and an optimist, but, it is not an easy task, IMO.

6. Jun 19, 2010 #5

Hmm a filosofical point of view about SETI.