Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Could you fix it?

1. Mar 27, 2008 #1

wolram

Gold Member

Lift the bonnet on a modern car and you see a nightmare tangle of pipes and wires, so if your car will not start would you know how to fix it?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2008 #2
    I'd be pleased if I could get the bonnet open to be frank. I know less than nothing about cars. The only reason I know how the internal combustion engine works, is because I studied it in physics at school. I don't own a car, have never owned a car, and don't see myself owning one in the near future, unless a job requires it.

4. Mar 27, 2008 #3

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

So many of the systems on modern cars are run by imbedded computers, there's no way I would even try.

I grew up with seven brothers, all but two of them were very good with auto mechanics. I learned from them how to do simple things. I wasn't too bad at it, but if the car's newer than, oh, 1966, forget about it!

5. Mar 27, 2008 #4
    I think some cars are smarter than the people that drive them these days. :wink:

They had one that drove round a circuit beating all the drivers on Top Gear, except the tame pro driver, without a driver, By itself!

6. Mar 27, 2008 #5

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The Otto cycle! I loved learning that!

7. Mar 27, 2008 #6
    My 95 S-10 yes after I go over to my friends house and borrow his OBD scanner. As for my 07 Prius I can cheek the fluid levels and that is the extent that I'm willing to do on that car.

8. Mar 27, 2008 #7

Kurdt

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You need a laptop and an automotive scanning tool.

9. Mar 27, 2008 #8

turbo

Gold Member