Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Countable base and subcover

1. Jul 21, 2010 #1
    Hello all,

I am a newbie to topology. Hope someone can help sharpen my understanding.

I read a theorem that "if [tex] T [/tex] is a topological space with countable base, then every open cover has a finite or countable subcover"

Apparently this is quite intuitive because as in the definition of countable base, every open set should be generated by it, and [tex] T [/tex] is by definition open, so that means it should be the union of the countable base. Obviously this is the "smallest size" open cover which is of course countable, so any open cover cannot get smaller "size" than this?

Also, somehow I am quite confused with countable subcover, because if an open cover is "as countable as" the base, this means every set is just that in the base, hence, this is the just the open cover formed by the base, so is the above theorem valid, i.e. open cover and subcover are the same is allowed?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 21, 2010 #2

quasar987

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Well, yes, that is the correct idea, but you should be able to show how to construct a countable subcover from a given uncountable cover {O_i}.

This I don't follow. Maybe you can rewrite that question in other (more precise) terms?

4. Jul 22, 2010 #3
    Actually I am confused with the following cases:

i) An uncountable open cover ----> countable subcover (Meaningful)

ii) Countable open cover ----> countable subcover (Meaningful, because the former one can be of cardinality larger than the later one, so subcover makes sense to me)