Counting ghost numbers

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hello I am new in string theory and I am wrestling with a paper in Beltrami parametrization. Although I have spend time studying ghosts, brs symmetry etc my knowledge in differential geometry is very limited (for string theory). My question is how do I count practically the grading of an object (it is defined as it's ghost number plus form degree).

Do I read this from the Lagrangian?

Second question: Where can I find the full Lagrangian with terms for antighosts?

Answers and Replies

What is the paper? This will be easier to answer if I can see what you're reading.

Hi, thanks for the interest! The paper is Physics Letters 196B, 142 (1987) by L.Baulieu and M.Bellon.

In trying to reproduce the calculations I see that I am definitely missing something. I believe I do not understand how to use the graded commutation and derivation correctly.

Specifically I do not understand:

1. how in equation (11) the plus and minus components of d from (8a) mix with those of lambda. The calculation should be straightforward from (8a) , (10) and the zero torsion condition after (11).

2. what exactly is meant by symmetrical product of forms which is mentioned in (7). I can see that in (7) it means to change the index signs in the right parenthesis before doing the multiplication.

3. if the spin connection omega is even or odd graded. From calculations I did I see that it must probably be graded even but I do not understand how I can tell from my equations.

Any help much appreciated since very few people can help me with this

Last edited:
Now we can struggle together. This could take a while... I want to think about the geometric meaning of the paper's thesis first, so if anyone else out there wants to tackle the algebra right away, please, go ahead.