1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Course is too hard

1. Aug 24, 2011 #1
    Hi! I'm a new undergraduate physics student from Mexico, I study in UNAM. The reason why I posted this here is because of desperately needed advice and support. My first two weeks of school have been pretty hard and I cannot grasp most of the things we're being taught.

For example, mathematical demostrations in calculus are hell, and we also get to solve differential equations on the introductory physics class...

My mathematical knowledge is more practical than theoretical in nature, so most of the stuff I thought I knew isn't it anymore. Also, I only took some basic calculus at high school, so I only know some basic differentiation and integration.

It's my first semester and I've been considering dropping out for the last two days.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 24, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

There are a few things you can do:

- Keep going in the course. Study very hard. Get help from as much sources as possible (incuding this forum).
    - Drop out and study something entirely different.
    - Drop out and take a year off to brush up your math and calculus skills. Start university again with your new acquired skills.

I cannot decide these things for you. Only you can decide what's best for you. If you decide to keep going, then you're going to face a lot of work. You have to decide for yourself whether this is really worth it.

How badly do you want to go into physics? If it's your lifelong dream, then you might regret dropping.

Remember, calculus is not very hard. You just need to work through it. Only you knows if you're up for this.

4. Aug 24, 2011 #3

chiro

Science Advisor