Why did my analysis of critically damped motion lead to the wrong solution?

In summary, the critical damping in an overdamped oscillator is when there are two different real roots for the quadratic equation in case of critical damping, while in an underdamped oscillator, the solution is still linear combination of the exponentials.
LCSphysicist
Homework Statement
ALl below
Relevant Equations
All below
Why is my analysis of critically damped motion wrong?
x'' + y*x' + wo²x = 0

Choosing a complex number z as z = A*e^i(wt+a) and putting on the equation calling x as the real part of Z

w = ( i*y +- (4wo²-y²)^(1/2) )/2 (bhaskara)

2wo = y (critical)

w = iy/2

z = A*e^i(ity/2 + a)
z = A*e^(-yt/2 + a)
x = A*e^(-yt/2)*cos(a)

Physics news on Phys.org
In the rolling of this question, i think the wrong step i did was adopt z as i adopted, but, if is this, raised up another question:
I am still a beginner dealing with this type of solution of differential equation by complex, so, how would i know the right z i need to assume before starting the mathematical steps?

LCSphysicist said:
In the rolling of this question, i think the wrong step i did was adopt z as i adopted, but, if is this, raised up another question:
I am still a beginner dealing with this type of solution of differential equation by complex, so, how would i know the right z i need to assume before starting the mathematical steps?
In case of critically damped or overdamped oscillators, the solution is not complex.
Read about the solutions of linear, constant- coefficient homogeneous ODE-s. (https://www.math24.net/second-order-linear-homogeneous-differential-equations-constant-coefficients/ , for example)