1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Currently doing undergraduate research, but need help on career path

1. Jul 30, 2014 #1
    Hey all!

I am currently doing a computer science project for a scientific collaboration at an REU this summer. I am a physics student and I plan to be a researcher one day. I really do not want to continue this project for two main reasons:

I simply do not know the computer science required(Would be a great learning experience though) and that this is not actually a physics project, but rather only to help the collaboration.

The project is to develop an artificial intelligence to help the researchers themselves. I'm curious that if I decide not to continue this project, my professors involved in this collaboration will not allow me to do undergrad research for them anymore. I really enjoy studying physics; it's my passion. If you guys could give me some advice. I've also been thinking of testing the waters in GR with a theoretical physicist at my University. How could I approach him? I also need to provide an undergrad thesis in 2 years

Thanks! I owe you all a lot

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 30, 2014 #2

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor

Well for starters, have you taken GR before?

4. Jul 30, 2014 #3
    @WannabeNewton
    I have not haha. Which is the biggest problem, I understand. I don't believe my university has an undergrad GR course though

5. Jul 30, 2014 #4

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor