Can I Date My TA at My New College?

• Thread starter Azuri
  • Start date
In summary, the person is a second-year college student who is transferring to a school where her boyfriend is a TA for a class she needs to take. They have been dating for three years and are 21 and 19 years old. The person is concerned about the potential conflict of interest and whether her boyfriend could get fired or in trouble if their relationship is discovered. They have been advised to either take the course over the summer with a different TA or have her boyfriend request someone else TA the course. The person also asked if the scenario would be different if they were married or in a common law relationship.
Azuri
Hey I'm in my second year of college and I am actually transferring next semester. The concern is the school I am transferring to is the school my boyfriend is a TA at. I know I am going to be in his class because one of the main reasons I am transferring is because the school has my major and the class required which is only taught by one professor and his one TA. My boyfriend and I have been dating for three years. He just turned 21 and I am 19. Would this be a problem at the new college, would he get fired or in trouble if found out or does the fact that we had a relationship prior negate that? Any and all answers would be helpful, thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Azuri said:
Would this be a problem at the new college, would he get fired or in trouble if found out or does the fact that we had a relationship prior negate that?

Probably. You would have to check the school's policies, but it is nearly certain that this would not be permitted.

To the OP:

I have a few questions:

(1) Is it possible to take the required class for your major earlier in your present school, to bypass having your boyfriend as TA?