Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Dear Marcus: Please explain

1. Oct 8, 2011 #1
    Dear Marcus:

Many thanks for your very informative messages.

Please write one more on a simple LAYMAN's question.

How do we know FOR SURE what is going on NOW in the far distant places of the Universe as the light from there had originated long AGO?

Why there are no chances that NOW the far edges of the Universe are slowing in their move outward, or not expanding at all, or even contracting in a Big Crunch?

As a stupid layman I think we do NOT and can NOT know anything about the places of the Universe about which we can get only a remote history. All we do are bold extrapolations.

Dear Marcus:

Please tell me where I am stupidly wrong so that I would stop thinking on this question and get peace of mind.

Thank you,

Ut-Napishtim

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2011 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

When Marcus answers, I'm sure he'll give a more knowledgeable one than my amateurish one. The question does not seem to me to be in the least stupid. It's one that has been brought up here before and of course your logic is unassailable in that yep, it's been a long time since the light from far distant galaxies and other objects left on there way here and who knows what might be going on out there right now.

One thing that points to the likelihood that there is NOT anything weird going on out there and that in fact our "bold extrapolations" (nicely phrased by the way) most likely are right, is the fact that the models physicists have come up with to explain how the universe works would likely be badly broken if weird stuff WAS happening "out there".