Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Decelerating a Body at 0.8g

1. Feb 22, 2015 #1
    A Physics Problem 02.jpg

I am a truck driver, the law requires me to restrain my load of 100kg, to resist a forward braking force (deceleration) of 0.8g.

If, I took the 100kg load and tilted it (inclined plane), what angle of tilt, would be required to represent a force of 0.8g ?

How does one calculate the angle required to equate to a force of 0.8g, I happen to know the answer is 53 degrees, but, I need to know how this is calculated.

I am a real truck driver with a real problem and look forward to your solution.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 22, 2015 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Do you know any trigonometry ?

4. Feb 22, 2015 #3
    Units are important here. After looking at the values on the diagram, I would say that if you want to work with SI units, then the force is really ##80g## Newtons, not ##0.8g## Newtons.
    Now that everything is in SI units:
    If you're on an inclined plane, your weight could be split into two components (using trigonometry): one parallel to the plane and the other perpendicular to the plane. We only care about whatever happens parallel to the plane for now. Given this information, do you now understand how the angle is obtained?

Last edited: Feb 22, 2015
  5. Feb 22, 2015 #4

jbriggs444

Science Advisor

Quibble: If units are important then the force is not 80g either. The force of a 0.8 g acceleration on a 100 kg box is 80 kilogram-g. But this is trigonometry and what really matters are dimensonless ratios like 0.8. The units all cancel anyway.

6. Feb 22, 2015 #5

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

I take it we have now moved into just spoon-feeding answers instead of helping folks figure out how to get answers for themselves.

7. Feb 22, 2015 #6
    I just edited my answer.

8. Feb 22, 2015 #7