1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deciding on a speciality

1. Jul 13, 2012 #1
    This is a question for anyone who thinks he has an answer:

I'm a first year math grad student (well, I will be in August.) I think for the first year I will take Algebra I&II Analysis I&II, Advanced Linear Algebra, and Complex Analysis (note, this is over two semesters so three classes per semester, not 6 classes this first semester.)

My question is: when did you decide on what area of math (or physics or whatever, if it is similar) to write your dissertation in? In particular, did you know before grad school, or did you really find out what you wanted to do after you took some grad-level courses to see what math at that level is really like?

I think I will need to wait until after the first year to get an idea; is this normal?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 13, 2012 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey Robert1986.

I don't have nor are working on a PhD, but don't schools have specific programs and departments that focus on specific kinds of things? If so, wouldn't this imply that you need to have some kind of specific focus with regards to the area (not so much the actual project or narrow investigation focus, but at least the area being narrowed down)?

4. Jul 13, 2012 #3
    Well, where I go - and I imagine this is similar for most places - there are a few Ph.D. programs. For example, we have the Math Ph.D. which is the most "traditional" but we also have a Ph.D. in Computational Science and Engineering (which is like applied math) and we have one in Algorithms, Combinatorics and Optimisation.

I'm the the Math Ph.D. Inside of that there isn't really any other "subgroup". For example, there is no "Algebra Ph.D." or "Math Ph.D. with a major in Analysis", etc.

5. Jul 13, 2012 #4