1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deciphering the hidden meanings

1. Sep 25, 2011 #1
    I am new here and as common courtesy dictates, I have searched, but couldn't find, and read the requisite FAQ's and rules and didn't see anything that would either; warrant me responding in another thread, or section. It is not my intention to start off on the wrong foot, so please forgive me if I have overlooked an aspect regarding what I am trying to accomplish. My aim with this thread is to post my questions regarding terminology and equation questions. My custom study thread of sorts.

I am currently studying the electricity and magnetism part of physics. I have found that in physics questions, that have been assigned me, there contain hidden meanings within the words they use. However, I am having a hard time figuring out on my own all the implied meanings a word is supposed to have. For instance:

I want to make it clear I am NOT looking for the answers, those I already have, a)3.76*10^-8 and b) 4.352m, what I am looking for is what I am supposed to gather from the words they have used to describe the problem.

So for instance, if I read "conducting sphere" I should really be thinking, "uniform charge"? Or something like that?

The words I am trying to decode are, "conducting sphere", "charged to 680v", "relative to v=0". Are there any others I have missed?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 26, 2011 #2
    I think you might be making this too complicated. A conducting sphere is a sphere made of a conducting material - so yes, charge will be more or less uniform on its surface.