Can BECs Show Us Decoherence in "Slow Motion"?

• Thread starter SW VandeCarr
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Decoherence
In summary: Overall, BECs allow us to study the decoherence process in a controlled and precise manner, providing valuable insights into this fundamental phenomenon. In summary, studying the decoherence process with Bose-Einstein condensates can give us insight into how this process works. By observing interference patterns and using techniques such as optical traps and thermal clouds, we can gain valuable information about the rate of decoherence and the effects of environmental noise. BECs also allow us to study the process in "slow motion", with decoherence times as long as 10^-2 seconds, providing a controlled and precise way to understand this fundamental phenomenon.
SW VandeCarr
I have no technical knowledge of this area, but I would like to know in what ways studying the decoherence process with Bose-Einstein condensates might tell us how this process works. Can BECs allow us to see the process in "slow motion" so to speak?

EDIT: I guess I should first ask if macroscopic superposition of states has been achieved in BECs. My lack of technical knowledge here has to do with terms like 'traps', 'thermal clouds' and 'squeezing' which appear in the literature.

EDIT: I found a good 'making a Schroedinger Cat 101' presentation at

cnls.lanl.gov/~dalvit/Talks_files/cuernavaca-3.pdf
Phys Rev A62 13607 (2000)

The article indicates that decoherence times can be as long as 10^-2 seconds for these 'cats'. That seems plenty long enough to be able to see something interesting, but the internet article doesn't describe any observations, so I still have questions.

For some reason the link doesn't work. (I found it by typing 'decoherence + BEC' on google). Anyway, I'd still appreciate any pearls anyone may have.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org