What Are Some Opportunities for Physics Majors in Defence Research in Canada?

In summary, the deadline for the industrial USRA is 4 weeks before the start date of employment, but you can try calling or emailing the defense facility to see if they know of any companies that are interested in hiring USRA students.
doublemint
Hello!
Summer is approaching and I am trying to secure a research position. I'm looking through the Industrial URSP eligible companies at NSERC that do defence research and I'm wondering if any has had any experience in doing research at a private defence research company or even the Defence Research Assistant Program that the Canadian government offers.
FYI I am a physics major.
Thank You for your Response!
DoubleMint

Physics news on Phys.org
bump!

When I was applying years and years ago (I was an engineering student, for what it's worth) I seem to recall that the industrial NSERC offered better odds (and pay) than the academic NSERC. However, this was before the recession, the boom, and the subsequent recession.

You're well past the academic application deadline (end of January), but I'm not sure of when the industrial NSERCs get adjudicated (and the website isn't particularly forthcoming)--it'd be worth a phone call or e-mail to make sure you can still apply for an industrial NSERC, especially considering that it's a month and a half away.

My (right or wrong) view of the defense industry in Canada is that it's mostly smaller outfits doing value-added and smaller-scale projects (e.g. one company that somehow ended up with a contract to build/maintain a robot that towed targets around--this description is intentionally vague). That may sound daunting, but it's probably up to you to find the contractors and for you (and them) to make the case for USRA-industry (defense).