How do I solve the definite integral of 1/(sqrt(3+x)) with bounds 5 and 7?

• Thread starter Moonflower
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Integration
In summary, the conversation discusses the steps to solve the definite integral of 1/(sqrt(3+x)) with lower bound 5 and upper bound 7. It involves making a substitution, finding the antiderivative, and applying the fundamental theorem of calculus. The final step depends on whether the function is kept in u or switched back to x+3.
Moonflower
Can you show me step by step to solve the definite integral of 1/(sqrt(3+x)), lower bound 5 and upper bound 7?
I'm not that good at calculus, so please explain each step.
Thanks.
God bless y'all

Physics news on Phys.org
[tex]\int_5^7 \frac{dx}{\sqrt{x+ 3}}= \int_5^7(x+3)^{-\frac{1}{2}} dx[/tex]

Now you can make the subsitution u= x+ 3 so that du= dx and when x= 5, u= 8, when x= 6, u= 10:
[tex]\int_8^{10} u^{-\frac{1}{2}} du[/tex]

Use [tex]\int u^n du= \frac{1}{n+1}u^{n+1}+ C[/tex].

HallsofIvy: thanks for your help, but what you gave, i think, is indefinite integral, rather than a definite integral. from what i know, because definite integral is a limit, it has to end in a certain number, without a variable. thanks again for your help though

To solve for the definite integral, just apply the fundamental theorem of calculus. The hardest part, which HallsofIvy almost completed, was to find the antiderivative.

oh, i see it...sorry for being an idiot :P
thx, both of you guys.

When I apply the Fundamental theorem of calculus in the last step, for LaTeX Code: \\int_8^{10} u^{-\\frac{1}{2}} du , do I use 8 and 10 as my a and b or do I use 5 and 7?

Moonflower said:
When I apply the Fundamental theorem of calculus in the last step, for LaTeX Code: \\int_8^{10} u^{-\\frac{1}{2}} du , do I use 8 and 10 as my a and b or do I use 5 and 7?

Use 8 and 10