1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering Degree Planning for Engineering/Business. Please Help.

1. Sep 15, 2008 #1
    Hey Guys.

I'm a freshman EE and have been thinking about what my plan of work in terms of class schedule should be. I want to work as an engineer, but eventually would like to move up into management (not upper-level management because I still want to work be involved in projects) or a senior engineering position. I'd be a liar if I said that money had nothing at all to do with it, but I know that its definitely not everything. I'm not the most outgoing, energetics type of person, but I like to solve problems and budgeting money comes naturally to me (in my opinion lol) So basically, I'm planning to stick with my EE degree but am considering additional business courses so if I do manage to break into management/an MBA program) eventually, there wont be such a steep learning curve. I have several options.

Just take a couple business classes as electives

Minor in business administration or economics

Apply for my school's BSEE/MSM program (Bachelors of Science in EE/Masters of Management dual degree)

Complete a double degree in EE/CE (3 extra classes) + a minor in Mathematics (1 or 2 extra classes) and just focus on that until I get a job and ask to get an MBA after some years of work)

I'm trying to roughly plan things out so that I don't unnecessarily waste time/money/opportunities that could have been used more wisely. By the way, I am also hoping to get into the co-op program..and will most likely stay in that for the whole 12 month duration if possible.

By the way, I know that a degree doesn't necessarily 'entitle' me to a job, but I fell that it increases chances.