Is DFT Still the Go-To Method for Electronic Structure Calculations?

In summary: The book Density Functional Theory: A Practical Introduction to by Robert Parr and Yang Weitao is recommended. It gives a nice overview of the subject, without going too deeply into the theory. Apparently Density-Functional Theory of Atoms and Molecules (International Series of Monographs on Chemistry) by Robert Parr and Yang Weitao is recommended.
Euphemia
Hi,all
Is there someone's research related to DFT?
I'm an undergraduate trying to get into it.
I hope I could get some help hear if I have any question about that!
Thanks a lot,Euphemia

Physics news on Phys.org
Euphemia said:
Hi,all
Is there someone's research related to DFT?
I'm an undergraduate trying to get into it.
I hope I could get some help hear if I have any question about that!
Thanks a lot,Euphemia
What would one like to know about DFT?

The field has been developing over the last 4 or 5 decades.

Astronuc said:
What would one like to know about DFT?

The field has been developing over the last 4 or 5 decades.
Ya, you're probably right. But I think the theory still not complete yet!
There are a lot of fine models, and none of them is really based on the first principle.
So I guess there is still something I can do!

Euphemia said:
Ya, you're probably right. But I think the theory still not complete yet!
There are a lot of fine models, and none of them is really based on the first principle.
So I guess there is still something I can do!
Actually, almost all popular density functionals are either directly derived from first principles (e.g. PBE, TPSS) or based on a mixture of physically meaningful ideas with parameter fitting to accurate reference data (e.g., the LYP correlation functional or the mixing factors in B3LYP).