1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deriving equations am I just dumb?

1. Nov 5, 2006 #1
    I'm in third year undergraduate physics, and more and more I'm seeing problems in homework and assignments that say "Prove that" and "Show that", basically just deriving equations.

There's just one problem, I can't do it for the life of me. I had a thermodynamics test recently, and despite understanding the material and how all the equations work, I failed the test because the questions were proofs.

I look at problems like this and all I see is a million different possible things to do with the equation, but none of them seem to lead me to the desired solution. Then when I see the solution afterwards, I realize how stupid I was and how simple the problem really is, which will probably be exactly what happens with the test I wrote.

Studying also seems impossible as well, because even if I practice a proof, there's an entirely different kind that will be asked of me on a test.

Is there any special way to get good at these derivations or am I just doomed to failure even though I understand the concepts?
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2006 #2

Homework Helper

Exercise, exercise and exercise.

And, of course, one should think about the proofs, i.e. have in mind the point of your proof, as the assumptions and basic equations which you are using to construct a proof.
  4. Nov 5, 2006 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Also, know how to work backwards. You know what you're trying to prove, so see what steps you can take from that to get to what you're assuming to be true. With any luck, the steps are all reversible (if they're not, you should be able to find a work around), and you can just put the reverse of what you found down for your proof