Build Winning Desalination Plant with Sun Energy

• Thread starter james2286
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Plant
In summary: Air pressure? (This wouldn't be too practical, but say I could put the container undre a partial vacuum. Would this increase evaporation and to what extent?)This wouldn't really increase evaporation, but it is an interesting idea. Partial vacuum could be achieved by using a vacuum pump. However, it is not likely that you will be able to achieve a partial vacuum in an outdoor environment.- Container material - Whats the best possible material that is heat absorbant?The best possible material that is heat absorbant would be stainless steel. Stainless steel is able to withstand high temperatures and it is also corrosion resistant.
james2286
hello people,

gday everybody! I am a first year engineering student and we just got an assignment where we have to make a desalination plant. The restrictions on the plant are as follows:
- plant must be within the confines of 1m by 1m by 0.5m
- plant must ONLY using the sun as a source of energy
- no chemicals may be added to the water

The final test will take place in a two hour session where the plant that is able to purify the most water with cost also taken into account, wins $1000.

I was wondering if anyone here can give me their thoughts / ideas for the best possible plant.

Any ideas no matter how stupid would be appreciated. Creativity and onnovation will be what makes this successful.

Thank you!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Apart of those desalination plants which work based on osmosis effects, once I heard that if you find yourself in an isolated island just on the middle of the ocean, the best method to purify water is to boil it. Thus, the salt will remain in the bottom, and you can destilate water causing vapor molecules to crash into a cool surface and so becoming pure liquid water again.