Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Desalination plant

1. Aug 30, 2005 #1
    hello people,

gday everybody! Im a first year engineering student and we just got an assignment where we have to make a desalination plant. The restrictions on the plant are as follows:
    - plant must be within the confines of 1m by 1m by 0.5m
    - plant must ONLY using the sun as a source of energy
    - no chemicals may be added to the water

The final test will take place in a two hour session where the plant that is able to purify the most water with cost also taken into account, wins $1000.

I was wondering if anyone here can give me their thoughts / ideas for the best possible plant.

Any ideas no matter how stupid would be appreciated. Creativity and onnovation will be what makes this successful.

Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 30, 2005 #2

Clausius2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Apart of those desalination plants which work based on osmosis effects, once I heard that if you find yourself in an isolated island just on the middle of the ocean, the best method to purify water is to boil it. Thus, the salt will remain in the bottom, and you can destilate water causing vapor molecules to crash into a cool surface and so becoming pure liquid water again.

Ok, this is a rudimentary method, but if you are lost in such island, maybe you remind by words...... :rofl:

4. Aug 30, 2005 #3

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

Well, osmosis would work, but the membrane maybe expensive.

Evaporation seems the most practical, as sun is source of energy. That could be achieved with a solar concentrator or evaporation pool.

And perhaps a condenser.

Since this is your assigment, you'll have to figure out the details.