Can I Design a Capacitor Bank without Any Previous Knowledge or Resources?

In summary: Yes, that is correct. Adding resistors in series or in parallel will change how much voltage is output.
mike younes
im stuck on figuring out how to design a capacitor bank
i have nothing to start with, its part of a project, and i want its input to be 12v (storage).

im trying to google capacitor banks and trying to simulate my own using pspice but i keep getting floating nodes and missing resistors or inductors that are not used in most capacitor banks online.

to design the bank is all i need, so i can build it later

Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
So, basically just a battery? What kind of power do you want? That's the only thing I would see using a resistor for. You need to be more specific if there are specific applications that you have in mind. There really isn't much to a capacitor bank.

basically yes a battery. I am not really experienced in the field. i want the bank to be such that it takes 12v input. so what i need to know is just how to place the capacitors and what capacitances they must have. when simulating using pspice, the simulation is not running, i don't know what's wrong in it. i wanted to do a trial and error until i get an output of 12v. I am not sure I am doing this right. any help is greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    24.2 KB · Views: 356
I'm not sure what purpose the inductor or resistors are serving.

Essentially, a capacitor bank is just a bunch of capacitors in parallel, and how many and what size is determined by your output, not your input.

So what are you looking in your output? That will determine any resistors, and also how many capacitors and what size. How much energy do you want to store? How much Power does your output need? etc.