Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Automotive designing a poka-yoke

1. Aug 4, 2017 #1
    I am a quality control engineer in an automotive parts manufacturing company. One of our products is a rocker arm bearing which is essentially a cam follower. The OD and ID of the bearing is ground using CBN grinding wheels. The ID contains cylindrical rolling needles. Recently we have received a lot of customer complaints for flat marks on OD of the bearing. Can an air gauge be used to measure or detect these flat marks and also can a simple poka yoke be designed using the same.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2017 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Interesting, I hadn't seen that term before. Learn something new here at the PF every day...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poka-yoke

Have you considered using machine vision to look at the finished parts to catch these problems?

4. Aug 4, 2017 #3
    What is a poka yoke? How is a bearing to function as a cam follower? is it acting as a roller follower? A picture might help explain your situation.

5. Aug 4, 2017 #4

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

(See the Wikipedia link that I posted...) :smile:

6. Aug 4, 2017 #5
    upload_2017-8-4_22-3-7.png

7. Aug 4, 2017 #6
    that cam roller is basically a needle roller bearing

8. Aug 4, 2017 #7
    we manufacture 1.2 mil. of these in a month. we use a vision system for checking missing needles. it is difficult handling such large volumes. also vision systems cost a lot of money

9. Aug 4, 2017 #8

Bandit127

Gold Member

Another vision system is also my guess for detecting the flats.

But you are the engineer in there. Characterise the symptom.
    How wide? How deep? Can you see it by eye? Can you see it by camera? Is it one part randomly? Is it a bunch of parts in a row?

You can't ask yourself, let alone us, how to detect it until you know exactly what it is you want to detect