1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Designing an experiment to establish a relationship between speed and air resistance

1. Aug 31, 2010 #1
    Hello. I'm a physics student in high school, and I'm trying to design an experiment. I've encountered a small setback, though.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Investigating the relationship between the speed of a table tennis ball and the force of air resistance exerted upon it.

2. Relevant equations

v^2=u^2+2as, v=u+at, f=ma, s=ut+1/2at^2

3. The attempt at a solution

The purpose of this lab is to investigate the relationship between the speed of a table tennis ball and the force of air resistance exerted upon it. In order to perform this investigation, I will vary the speed of a table tennis ball under two circumstances, the first of which in a vacuum (the control group), where air resistance does not apply, and the second of which in a non-vacuum, where air resistance does apply.