Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Designing small generators

1. May 21, 2013 #1

I have a decent background in generators and my brother had an idea for building one he wants me to help him out. Without getting into specifics, it would be a natural energy generator integrated into his home electrical system. I have run into some issues though as i am more familiar with shipboard generating and electricity than household electricity. and as far as designing generators goes i have no experience. i have decided to go with a permenent magnet synchronous generator. my more simple questions are as follows:
    what is the best way to incorporate small amounts of generated power into a household electrical system?
    are lagging or leading power factors going to have an affect on the equipment powered?
    is one capacitor per phase the only way to store this ac power?
    how do i maintain the output frequency at around 60hz if the input from nature is variable?
    the permanent magnet rotor will be small, maybe 3 inches, how much voltage can i realistically expect to generate?
    sorry for the length and i appreciate any help i can get, i doubt anyone has all the answers but if you have experience with this sort of thing please let me know

2. jcsd
  3. May 28, 2013 #2
    Hell Evan - Welcome, this type of question comes up a lot, and there are many factors. But in general the generator probably will need to be rectified to DC, then use an inverter to convert to a consistent 60Hz. To tie this directly to the household's main supply is quite dangerous, there are Backup - Battery supplied "Grid Tie Inverters" that will handle most of the work for you. The 3" rotor - does not tell us much, and we are looking to generate Power, not just voltage.

4. May 28, 2013 #3