Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Did they go bad?

1. Mar 20, 2009 #1

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

So I'm about to find out if a box of frozen [not precooked] chicken tenders thawed and went bad when I accidentally left them on my kitchen floor for 6 hours. How are my odds?

...Wish me luck!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 20, 2009 #2

Astronuc

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

They should be OK.

I've eaten meat (beef, pork, chicken, fish) that has sat out for about 72 hrs on a kitchen counter, so I think 6 hrs is not a problem.

4. Mar 20, 2009 #3
    Is ordering delivery an option?

Good luck.

5. Mar 20, 2009 #4
    Why would it go bad? 6 hours isnt long. It probably took at least two hours before they became room temp. Come on engineer...

6. Mar 20, 2009 #5

russ_watters

I'm an engineer, not a biologist. Actually, though, the box was still cool to the touch, so I wasn't too worried.
    Yikes, I accidentally let meat thaw on the counter overnight about half the time (meaning to leave it out for a couple of hours, then put it in the fridge) and never eat it after that. I've opened packages of chicken that really smelled after that much time.

7. Mar 20, 2009 #6
    The bacterial colonies begin to grow after T > 40 degrees F.

http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/fssummer.html [Broken]

"The key is to never let your picnic food remain in the "Danger Zone" - between 40° F and 140° F - for more than 2 hours, or 1 hour if outdoor temperatures are above 90° F. This is when bacteria in food can multiply rapidly, and lead to foodborne illness."

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  8. Mar 20, 2009 #7

Evo

Just think of what people ate before the days of refrigeration.

9. Mar 20, 2009 #8

Danger

Gold Member