Difference between Voltage Bias in STM/STS vs. Electrochemical Cell

In summary, the main difference between voltage bias in STM/STS and an electrochemical cell is the mechanism by which the voltage is applied. In STM/STS, the voltage is applied directly to the sample through a sharp metal tip, while in an electrochemical cell, the voltage is applied through the electrolyte solution surrounding the sample. The voltage bias also has different effects on the measurements in each technique. In STM/STS, it determines the energy of the electrons tunneling between the tip and the sample, while in an electrochemical cell, it controls the redox reactions at the electrode surface. The voltage bias can be varied in both techniques by adjusting the bias voltage or changing the potential difference. However, it is not the only important factor
DannyL
Hello Everyone,
I am a student studying electrochemistry – specifically energy storage devices. I have been familiarizing myself with various techniques to characterize the electrode surfaces. In particular, I am interested Scanning Tunneling Microscopy (STM) / Scanning Tunneling Spectroscopy (STS).

It appears that STM/STS can be used to measure the band-gap of semi-conductors by taking the derivative of the i-V curve in order to obtain a plot of “differential conductance” as a function of bias voltage. Where the potential region where dI/dV equals zero is taken to be the band-gap.

Usually when I see the term “voltage”, I think of an electrochemical cell (anode, cathode, electrolyte). However, the voltage between an anode and cathode in solution is referenced to some redox couple (vs. SHE or Li/Li+ or Ag/AgCl, for example).

In STM/STS, I know that the voltage bias is between the tip and the sample. However, no electrolyte is involved. Therefore, I cannot convert between potential scales (for example SHE => Li/Li+).