Differential Calculus Question

In summary: I got 0.3448 I don't know if the answer is correct but at least I understand the concept which is more important so thank you...
hiineko
If z = e ^ (xy ^ 2), x = tcost, and y = tsint compute dx / dt for t = pi / 2

I kind of lost in this difficult question pls help

I tried putting down the xy but using ln

lnz = xy^2

Product rule? Or what. This is my first time encountering this kind of question

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Are you sure that you need to calculate ##\frac{dx}{dt}##? If so, then the first and 3rd equations are irrelevant - just calculate ##\frac{d}{dt} (t cost)## using the product rule, and plug in ##\frac π {2}## for ##t## into the derivative.

PWiz said:
Are you sure that you need to calculate ##\frac{dx}{dt}##? If so, then the first and 3rd equations are irrelevant - just calculate ##\frac{d}{dt} (t cost)## using the product rule, and plug in ##\frac π {2}## for ##t## into the derivative.

Hmm that make sense
but in my homework it is dx/dt idk if that is a correction

I also think it is a dz/dt

hiineko said:
Hmm that make sense
but in my homework it is dx/dt idk if that is a correction

I also think it is a dz/dt
For dz/dt, why don't you substitute the values of x and y in terms of t for the expression of z first?

PWiz said:
For dz/dt, why don't you substitute the values of x and y in terms of t for the expression of z first?

hmmmm I tried this

4gkCQeN.png

Product rule?

If the question is just "what is dx/dt", then the answer is just d(t cos(t))/dt= cos(t)- t sin(t), by the product rule.

But perhaps the problem was to find dz/dt and you are asked to find dx/dt as part of that.

By the "chain rule", [itex]dz/dt= (\partial z/\partial x)(dx/dt)+ (\partial z/\partial y)(dy/dt)[/itex]

Since [itex]z= e^{xy^2}[/itex], [itex]\partial z/\partial x= y^2e^{xy^2}[/itex] and [itex]\partial z/\partial y= 2xy e^{xy^2}[/itex]