Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Differential Calculus Question

Tags:
  1. Jul 31, 2015 #1
    If z = e ^ (xy ^ 2), x = tcost, and y = tsint compute dx / dt for t = pi / 2

I kind of lost in this difficult question pls help

I tried putting down the xy but using ln

lnz = xy^2

Product rule? Or what. This is my first time encountering this kind of question

Last edited: Jul 31, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 31, 2015 #2
    Are you sure that you need to calculate ##\frac{dx}{dt}##? If so, then the first and 3rd equations are irrelevant - just calculate ##\frac{d}{dt} (t cost)## using the product rule, and plug in ##\frac π {2}## for ##t## into the derivative.

4. Jul 31, 2015 #3
    Hmm that make sense
    but in my hw it is dx/dt idk if that is a correction

I also think it is a dz/dt

5. Jul 31, 2015 #4
    For dz/dt, why don't you substitute the values of x and y in terms of t for the expression of z first?

6. Jul 31, 2015 #5
    hmmmm I tried this

4gkCQeN.png

Product rule?

7. Jul 31, 2015 #6

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

If the question is just "what is dx/dt", then the answer is just d(t cos(t))/dt= cos(t)- t sin(t), by the product rule.

But perhaps the problem was to find dz/dt and you are asked to find dx/dt as part of that.

By the "chain rule", [itex]dz/dt= (\partial z/\partial x)(dx/dt)+ (\partial z/\partial y)(dy/dt)[/itex]

Since [itex]z= e^{xy^2}[/itex], [itex]\partial z/\partial x= y^2e^{xy^2}[/itex] and [itex]\partial z/\partial y= 2xy e^{xy^2}[/itex]

As before, [itex]dx/dt= cos(t)- t sin(t)[/itex] and, since [itex]y= t sin(t)[/itex], [itex]dy/dt= sin(t)+ t cos(t)[/itex].

8. Jul 31, 2015 #7