Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Digital Trainer board

1. Dec 9, 2016 #1
    Hi everyone,
    I have a project for the semester which I have just concluded. We will be testing the board early next week to see if it works and I am expected to explain how the board works, and I don't really know much about it. Can someone please help? I am currently writing a technical report on it. Your help will be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 9, 2016 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Wait, what? This is your project, and you can't explain it? Um, that's a bit strange, IMO.

4. Dec 9, 2016 #3
    Of course, I can explain to some extent, but I just feel I should be able to do better. Like I said I am currently writing a report on it, so I understand some bit. Just looking for some more info. It's my first year in college.

5. Dec 9, 2016 #4

berkeman

Great! Please explain it to us in deatil.

What are the different sections meant to show? Is this a 2-layer, 4-layer or 1-layer PCB? Please post the schematic to help us help you...

6. Dec 10, 2016 #5

jedishrfu

This is a patch board given to students to wire up different circuits and learn how they work.

As an example, you could wire switch 1 to led 1 and connect power to the board and then when you flip the switch the led goes on.

7. Dec 11, 2016 #6
    I'm not sure how many layers, but here is the schematics given to us. Thanks

Attached Files:

8. Dec 11, 2016 #7

berkeman

Can you explain the circuit in the upper left?

9. Dec 11, 2016 #8
    It's the LM317 voltage regulator

10. Dec 11, 2016 #9

berkeman

No, that's in the upper right. i'm asking about the logic circuits in the upper left... :smile:

11. Dec 11, 2016 #10
    I am not sure about the logic circuit or how they work.

12. Dec 11, 2016 #11

berkeman

I'm sure they covered them in class...