1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Dimensions of subspaces

1. Oct 30, 2008 #1
    If V and W are 2-dimensional subspaces of R4 , what are the possible dimensions of the subspace V intersection W?

I am new to subspaces, so I have no clue to this question. Help guys!!!

Options: (A) 1 only (B) 2 only (C) 0 and 1 only (D) 0, 1, and 2 only (E) 0, 1, 2, 3, and 4

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2008 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

You don't need to be concerned about the fact that V and W are subspaces, nor that they are embedded in a four-dimensional space.

V and W are two-dimensional, so you know what they look like geometrically, don't you? Now, what are all of the possibilities for the intersection of V and W?

4. Oct 30, 2008 #3
    you mean to say that V and W are 2x2 matrices and their intersection would also be a 2x2 matrix....so the required dimension is 2 only?

5. Oct 30, 2008 #4

Mark44

No, I didn't say that at all. What does any two-dimensional space look like geometrically?

6. Oct 30, 2008 #5
    I am sorry but i am not able to grasp the idea u r trying to put.

7. Oct 30, 2008 #6
    I think the possibility of dimensions would be 0,1, and 2.

8. Oct 30, 2008 #7

Mark44

Considering the real plane, what is the dimension of a single point? What is the dimension of a line?

9. Oct 30, 2008 #8
    it is single dimension

10. Oct 30, 2008 #9

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You do need to pay some attention to the dimension of the space they are embedded in. If they were embedded in three space a 0 dimensional intersection would be impossible.

11. Oct 30, 2008 #10

Mark44

I asked two questions. Your answer above is the answer to which question?

12. Oct 30, 2008 #11

Mark44