• Start date

Homework Statement

In the circuit below, determine the current through the diode
http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/152/jar0.jpg [Broken]

Homework Equations

V:IR
3V: Va+Vb

The Attempt at a Solution

This is my first time trying to solve a circuit problem involving diodes. I first tried to use previous equations I knew, (Ohm's Law & Kirchoff's Laws) but I don't see how I'm suppose to use these equations. I asked my professor if the problem was accidentally not given enough information but he corrected me wrong.

How should I approach this problem?
sorry I'm too noob :)

Homework Statement

Homework Equations

Last edited by a moderator:

Answers and Replies

gneill
Mentor

Homework Statement

In the circuit below, determine the current through the diode
http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/152/jar0.jpg [Broken]

Homework Equations

V:IR
3V: Va+Vb

This is my first time trying to solve a circuit problem involving diodes. I first tried to use previous equations I knew, (Ohm's Law & Kirchoff's Laws) but I don't see how I'm suppose to use these equations. I asked my professor if the problem was accidentally not given enough information but he corrected me wrong.

How should I approach this problem?
sorry I'm too noob :)

KVL, KCL, Ohm's law, etc., will all work fine. You just need to know the properties of a diode. What are they?

Last edited by a moderator:
Properties? What do you mean?

gneill
Mentor
Properties? What do you mean?

What do you know about diodes?

I know that there are three types of diodes. For the LED diode, the voltage needs to have at least 0.7 for it to be on.

gneill
Mentor
I know that there are three types of diodes. For the LED diode, the voltage needs to have at least 0.7 for it to be on.

Okay. Here you're interested in just a run of the mill diode. The 0.7V forward bias voltage is typical of a silicon-based diode (diodes made from other materials will have slightly different characteristic turn-on voltages).