Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Direct limit question

1. Aug 16, 2006 #1
    Hello,

I'm a bit new to these direct limits (or colimits if you like) and have been using them for free abelian groups for about a month now and so am growing somewhat familiar with them. However I have a new question:

If you have a case where an object M is the union of a nested family of subobjects U_lambda so your directed set is totally ordered, then it seems as though the direct limit of the U_lambda should be M, along with inclusion maps. That is to say, M and the inclusion maps fit into the definition's diagram quite nicely and it makes sense using an intuitive argument with cofinal sets (keep choosing smaller "tail end" cofinal subsets of your directed set and the direct limit is the same, but then you're using "larger" subobjects that "approach" M)

However, I'm still a novice and am worried that I have overlooked something. As always, many thanks for your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 16, 2006 #2

Hurkyl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It depends, of course, on the category you're using.

But in Set, you are right -- the nested union is a direct limit of a nested sequence of sets. This is true for any variety of universal algebras (such as groups, rings, or real vector spaces) and many other concrete categories.

Have you tried giving a rigorous proof? It might be a good exercise. :smile: I think the easiest approach is {given a sequence of maps U_lambda -> N that commute with inclusions, construct the appropriate map M -> N and show it's unique}.

4. Aug 16, 2006 #3

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2015 Award

thats right, a direct limit is just a generalized union.

i.e. direct sum of sets is disjoint union, and a direct limt is the usual union with overlaps.

this is very sharp of you to realize this!

5. Aug 16, 2006 #4