1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Direction of Friction force

1. Aug 18, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

One surface moves over the other stationary surface.

a. Is friction felt by both the surfaces?
    b. Is the friction force same in magnitude?
    c. What are the direction of friction forces felt by them?

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Since both the surface are in relative motion and touching each other, the friction force should be produced. But i could not imagine how the stationary surface feel the friction.

This is my first attempt at physics forum. If someone can provide the clear example that lets me imagine, it will be greatly helpful.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 18, 2014 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

Take a shot at answering your own questions! Hint: Does friction help or hinder motion, in general?

4. Aug 18, 2014 #3
    Why imagine when you can do an experiment: hold one hand still and use your other hand to move a book over it.

5. Aug 18, 2014 #4
    consider a case:
    you're tied with a rope which is tied with the roof , and you're hanging , there is a platform (with small wheels) beneath you and you can walk on that platform . Now what will happen when you walk on that ( definitely you won't go forward ) ? now consider your first and third parts.
    For the second part observe and make cases .

6. Aug 18, 2014 #5