1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Disc/Shell Problem

1. Dec 15, 2005 #1
    I'm pretty new to discs/shells and I'm having a hard time with it. Here's a problem I've been stuck on for a few days now:

I need to find the volume of a solid by revolving the region bounded on the left by x = y^2 +1 and by x = 5 on the right side. It is revolved around x = 6.

My work (I can't figure out how to make it appear as it would in the book, so I apologize if this becomes confusing):

I took the integral from -2 to 2 of (pi) times (6 - (y^2 +1))^2.

int from -2 to 2 ((pi) (5-y^2)^2) dy

(pi) int from -2 to 2(25 - 10 y^2 + y^4) dy

(pi) ((25y - (10y^3/3) + (y^5/5) from -2 to 2)

(pi) ((50 - (80/3) + (32/5)) - (-50 + (80/3) - 32/5))

(pi) (100 - (160/3) + (64/5))

(pi) ((1500/15) - (800/15) + (192/15))

= 892(pi)/15

I tried using the shell method but that turned out even worse, so I figure I'm supposed to use the disc method.

Any help or tips?
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 15, 2005 #2
    First write the area of the anular region from the disk with radius 1 centered in [itex]x=6[/itex] to [itex]x=y^2+1[/itex], then integrate over the whole height of the figure (a drawing will make it clearer).

Hah, thats exactly what you did... assuming your calculation is good, then ur all set!
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2005
  4. Dec 15, 2005 #3
    Well, I'm pretty sure I did all the calculations correct; it was just a matter of setting up the problem correctly (I always have a hard time with that part lol).

Thanks for confirming my work!
  5. Dec 15, 2005 #4

Staff: Mentor