Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Distinguished physics professor busted with kilos in Argentina, possibly framed

1. Mar 27, 2012 #1
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2012 #2
    Am I the only one who had a good laugh when reading the article?

But come on, if I were caught smuggling drugs I'd play dumb as well.

Wha? Drugs?! OUTRAGEOUS!? I am a distinguished physics professor, why would I need drugs? The university obviously set me up because they are jealous!

I found that even funnier after reading the article.

4. Mar 27, 2012 #3

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

No kidding! That article reads like a bad soap opera (forgive the redundancy).

5. Mar 27, 2012 #4
    The article does not say he is accusing the university of setting him up. He is accusing a particular person, with whom he has a rivalry, of having unfairly stopped his pay while he is incarcerated trying to clear the charges.

Does a physics professor decide he'll try picking up some drugs on an overseas trip for the hell of it? One of his students thinks the notion he suddenly turned to drug smuggling is a joke:

Actual drug smugglers, on the other hand, will try anything to get drugs across borders. His suitcase was probably switched for a loaded one at his hotel, and would have gone missing before it got to him at the airport when he arrived in the US.

6. Mar 27, 2012 #5
    Yes, I was in error. But I was thinking of something when I was reading it which is why I stated that as such.

While true, that is one of many possibilities. Another possibility is, he was smuggling drugs. The, "I would've never thought he was capable of..." comes to mind and is often said because people are people with their own motives.

7. Mar 27, 2012 #6