Exploring Vector Calculus: Smoothness Condition & Derivatives

In summary: A shock front, however, is not truly discontinuous. Viscosity softens the would-be discontinuity and replaces it with a steep transition over a finite distance.
Hornbein
I'm learning vector calculus and am wondering how general it is. The appear to be using a smoothness condition, but what is it? Certainly the functions are required to have two derivatives. That is, the partial derivatives can be taken twice. Are they further required to have an infinite number of derivatives for those identities to hold? Or what?

Physics news on Phys.org
Different theorems have different conditions.

The definitions are definitions.

Being a physicist, I realize most physical phenomena satisfy all the conditions of being continuous and differentiable. Some theorems require more like being conservative.

If you are a mathematician, you may need to pay more attention to the fine print and consider what kinds of functions don't satisfy the conditions of a given case. As a physicist, I've done OK dwelling less on the fine print like whether a function is infinitely differentiable.

Hornbein said:
Certainly the functions are required to have two derivatives. That is, the partial derivatives can be taken twice.
In general, for a function to have an ##n##th derivative, it is necessary but not sufficient that the ##n##th partial derivatives exist.
Hornbein said:
Are they further required to have an infinite number of derivatives for those identities to hold? Or what?
Nobody can tell without knowing what identities you are talking about. The degree of smoothness required depends on the particular identity or theorem. You cannot make a statement like: "In vector calculus, all functions must be at least twice differentiable".