Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

DIY solar panels

1. Mar 2, 2009 #1
    I've found some resources online about building your own solar panels. The basic premise I've found is this:
    solar cells -> diode -> battery -> inverter -> mocha machine

First off, if anyone has done this before, any general advice would be appreciated. More specifically, I need someone to point me in the direction of how the amount of power required to charge, say, a car battery is quantified. Meaning, if I have a panel that produces 60W at 18V, how do I know how long that will take to charge a 12 volt car battery? What variables are in play? What are the units of measure? etc.

Sorry for being vague, but I'm just getting started with this and barely even know the questions to ask.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 2, 2009 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Stick to expresso, don't ruin coffee by filling it with milk.
    Firstly 18V is probably a bit high to charge a car battery without some other control electronics.
    Battery capacity is in Amp-hours = how many amps * how many hours.
    60W at 18v is 5Amp at 12V, so to charge a 100 AmpHour battery would (in an ideal world) take 20 hours ( = 100A mpHours/5Amps)

4. Mar 3, 2009 #3
    A 60 Watt (max) panel is likely to produce 6 Watts on average.

The charging process is far from 100% efficient.

I would estimate it would take at least 250 hours to charge a 100 Ah battery = 10 days on average.....quicker in Summer, longer in Winter.

Solar panels are simply not economic and unlikey to ever pay for themselves.

5. Mar 5, 2009 #4
    Pumblechook said,
    I beg to differ.
    Although solar panels may take years to payback their initial cost, you must consider their "free" energy after that.
    Without the investment today, what will you be paying for energy then?