Do any of you guys study philosophy?

In summary, I think that philosophy is the most interesting academic discipline and it's broad and far-reaching.
stjimmy
Hey do any of you guys study philosophy or wish to?
Do you study something else and wish you studied philosophy instead?
I think that philosophy is the most interisting of all the academic displines that there are and definately the most broad and far reaching of them
also what can or you will do with your degeree in philosophy

Physics news on Phys.org
stjimmy said:
What can you do with a degree in philosophy
Become a philosophy professor.

That's about it I think.

Although I did work with a few fellows who had Ph.D.s in philosophy once. But that was only when I was down and out and had to do grunt work between careers. :biggrin:

Here's a thread where PF members talked about their philosphy background.

Hey but what do you think about it to study it?
I mean is it really just buttering no bread?
heh?

I studied Philosophy and I find mainstream philosophy to be obsolete and invalid. For example, many of the philosophical questions, such as if we have free will, have already been answered by sciences such as evolutionary psychology and neurobiology. Then the ponderings about the various morality systems again have been scientifically discussed and explained in Evolutionary Psychology. Philosophers are too behind and are not catching up with the latest findings, they are stuck in the past, perhaps because of nostalgic reasons, lack of mathematical and reasoning abilities, or close-mindedness where new sciences are automatically rejected.

Scientific Method said:
Philosophers are too behind and are not catching up with the latest findings, they are stuck in the past, perhaps because of nostalgic reasons, lack of mathematical and reasoning abilities, or close-mindedness where new sciences are automatically rejected.

Please state whether this is your opinion, or provide your evidence of this claim.