Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do cells generate heat?

1. Sep 14, 2015 #1
    Hello,

As you can tell I'm new here. I'm not into science generally but I have come across some discussions online that have gained my interest. So I would like to get a basic understanding of a few things that I don't understand.

So my question is, do cells generate heat? And I what I mean is does a human's cell actually heat to burn food and turn it into energy? From what I've read so far is that a cell will change the food molecules through a chemical reaction into a energy that the body can use. Does this process involve or produce heat in anyway?

And I'll apologize in advance if I'm coming off as a idiot. I am a science and biology newbie but I'm curious to learn more. Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2015 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Yes, cells do generate heat, under certain circumstances.

Each cell contains one or more special parts or organelles called mitochondria (singular, mitochondrion). The mitochondria are the parts of the cell which take nutrients and produce energy, sometimes in the form of heat, through various biochemical processes:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitochondrion

4. Sep 14, 2015 #3

Bystander

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Certainly. Google "metabolism, metabolic processes."

5. Sep 14, 2015 #4
    Thanks for the speedy replies!

6. Sep 15, 2015 #5

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

Certain circumstances as "being alive". Nearly all chemical reactions release a bit of heat, and a cell needs chemical reactions to live (by definition).

7. Sep 15, 2015 #6

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper