Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do electrons think?

1. Jun 24, 2006 #1
    Hi, I was talking about this on another forum's general chat section and think you may be interested in answering this simple question of mine. I will copy/paste my question below. I'm sorry if this looks nonsense to you in any way since I am not an electrical engineer :)

I am confused with this question since high school. Hope anybody can help :)

Ok, the question is about electric current. Electric current is the flow of electric charge by moving electrons. Most of you know about Ohm's law.

I will define the question in a short circuit diagram but it is also valid in all circuits.

According to Ohm's law (V=IR), in the diagram below, electrons flow through the wire and when they are at point A they all turn right following the green arrow. Because there is (ideally) zero resistance there. No electrons pass through the blue arrow so there is no current/electron flow on the red wire.

[​IMG]

Now, as you can see there is little a distance between the resistance (R1) and the point A. When an electron comes at point A, it has to check if there is a resistance in his way before he turns (They should also calculate the ratios of resistances if there are resistances on both wires). So electrons have to see the resistance before they turn to the right direction. In order to see and check something, you must have some kind of intelligence, don't you?

This is my question. I think this confuses me because, the level of high school physics is not enough to explain this issue. (A few years ago, I discussed this with a friend studying at electrical engineering and we couldn't find a solution. He is now graduated and probably knows the answer :) )

I certainly can presume that there is a clear explanation and love to see it if anybody has a clue.

Last edited: Jun 24, 2006
  2. jcsd