1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do employers care where you went to school?

1. Mar 29, 2005 #1
    I'm really having a tough time deciding where to transfer to next fall to complete my degree in electrical engineering. My choices are, a high priced private university that has a very good local reputation. Or, a much cheaper, public university. From what I've been able to dig up through my research, the public university does have a good local rep, but the private school has a slightly better one. The private school would cost me about 30k as opposed to about 10k at the public school.

So, my question is this:
    After I've been working for 2 to 3 years, is any employer going to care if I went to the private college as opposed to the public?

Money is almost meaningless to me. My biggest concern is finding a job I enjoy that will pay the bills. 40k to 60k a year is all I really need to be happy.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 29, 2005 #2

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Well if your staying local, might as well go to the private one. Public school kinda sucks because its government funded which kinda implies its own built-in stupidity and inefficiency. Ask people who go there about the environment and the profs and see whawt their opinions are. And if money is meaningless to you, why does it matter lol.

4. Mar 29, 2005 #3

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor