1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do I fit as a Astrohphysicist?

1. Aug 28, 2013 #1
    Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum and I have a few questions to ask. First of all I'm incredibly interested in Physics, Math and anything related to Astro (Universe), but the problem comes to math.
    I'm currently a freshman in High school, I'm 16 years old. The problem comes to math because I can't seem to understand it when I wanna study on my own, without any teachers to help me and even if they do help me I will probably ask for help 20 times a lession. So how can I improve my Math skills?, and won't I be able to become a Astrophysicist because of this?

Please answer my question and apologize my bad english, It's not my primary launguage.

Is it required for all Scientists/Astrophysicists to have a iq of ≈120-150? I'm not below average for sure.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 28, 2013 #2
    Any serious involvement with astrophysics, just like with physics or astronomy, will require fluency in mathematics. Sorry, you can't get around that.

I am not sure how we could advise you with regard to your difficulties with mathematics unless you explain what they are.

4. Aug 28, 2013 #3
    Math is very easy for me as long as I understand it, but the problem is that I canno't grasp tasks that I've never seen before or if I forgot a little part of it, which makes it a lot difficult for me. Otherwise normal calculations are easy for me, just that problem solving is complicated, I never know where to begin when trying to solve it.

And will it be possible for me to master Mathematics if I really do try hard and ask questions? That's usually what I do in my class.

5. Aug 28, 2013 #4
    Problems are one thing.

Concepts are another.